October 23, 2017

The Crown or Sahasrara Chakra

So we've arrived at the end of our little chakra journey, the seventh chakra called The Crown Chakra! Working with the energy of this chakra brings us intuitive knowledge, deeper understanding and enables us to connect with an experience of completeness and The Divine, whatever that means to you! 

You can read up on the Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra and Third Eye Chakra here in case you've missed them.

The Sahasrara Chakra is located at the very top of the central meridian, the sushumna nadi. When the energy is balanced we feel connected. It's the gateway to the blissful state of Absolute Knowledge that yogis call Satchidananda which can only be attained when all the other chakras are balanced.  

We've worked our way through the chakras starting from the Root Chakra which enables us to feel grounded and safe to the Crown Chakra which is the most spiritual and hardest to understand with a rational mind. 

You might want to work with this chakra if you feel you want to experience a deeper connection with the mystical aspects in your life. As with all the other energies it is possible that Sahasrara energy is either excessive (you have frightening visions and are too open to anyone who professes to be a religious or spiritual teacher) or deficient (you have a total absence of faith, feel isolated and disconnected from the world). 

Signs for possible Sahasrara imbalance:

  • Feeling of being scattered
  • You lack inspiration 
  • You see the world purely rational and materialistic and feel disconnected  
  • You are having trouble quietening the chatter in your mind 
  • low energy which is mainly directed to materialistic pursuits 
  • depression 

Physical Signs

  • you suffer from insomnia or other sleep disturbances 
  • lightheaded, dizzy suffering from headaches
  • paralysis that affects both muscles and nerves 

How to work with the Sahasrara Chakra

Chanting mantras and meditation. Practising for example Nadanusandhana which is a practice of chanting Om combined with different mudras.  

Sahasrara Chakra 

  • Colour: Violet / White Light containing all colours of the universe
  • Sound: silence
  • Element: Beyond time and space
  • Yoga Poses: half moon pose, scorpion, meditation
  • Mudra: chin mudra, thumb and first finger together
  • Yantra: infinite number of petals in all the colours of the rainbow
  • Meaning of name:  "Lotus of the Thousand Petals"

Source: The Essential Guide to Chakras, Swami Saradananda


Hi, I’m Christine, a mum of two and I love everything to do with yoga! My blog is about how to bring yoga into our busy family lives and how to stay fit, healthy and sane. I also teach group and private yoga classes for adults and families in New Malden and Kingston.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below

Leave a Reply:

%d bloggers like this: